004. This Can Be Anything, Still (Zack Sekoff)

Zack Zekoff Banner Corrected.png

When Vince Staples' Big Fish Theory dropped earlier this year, it was all Pierce Engineer & I could listen to. Learning that one of the producers on that album - Zack Sekoff - was a huge Ableton Live user, we of course wanted to reach out to him to learn about his process & how hear how he puts his beats together. What we got was a lot more than we bargained for as Zack not only explained the technical side of his production but also went deep into philosophical discussions on Live, developing & executing musical concepts, & the importance of staying open minded about where inspiration can come from & where a track can go. This episode serves as a collection of those ideas & is worth any producer's time to learn from.

Zack Sekoff: https://soundcloud.com/zsekoff
Big Fish Theory: https://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/big-fish-theory/

This episode features original music by Pierce Engineer & Smoov.

003. Apprehension (Mark Korven)

In this episode, composer Mark Korven shares his approach to creating the unusual score for The Witch, which blends medieval instruments and textured noises in a dynamic and dissonant soundscape that highlights every haunting moment of the film. He also explains the workings of his famous "Apprehension Engine" and discusses how temp scores and directors have changed the role of film composers over the years.

Mark Korven: http://www.markkorven.com/Main.html

The Apprehension Engine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzk-l8Gm0MY

The Witch: http://thewitch-movie.com

The Witch Soundtrack: https://milanrecords.com/the-witch-music-by-mark-korven/

This episode features samples of The Witch OST & original music by Pierce Engineer and Sam Elrod.

002. Sound & Story (Jeremy Bloom & Evan Cook)

episode page: www.patches.zone/sound-and-story

What happens to an artist's thought process when they acknowledge the larger purpose driving their work? In this episode, Jeremy Bloom and Evan Cook break down concepts from sound design for theatre, and the lessons they share are applicable to any kind of creator.

Jeremy Bloom: http://www.jeremyb.com

Evan Cook: http://evancook.audio

Original music by Pierce Engineer.

pATCHES: www.patches.zone